New Orleans Funk

Nawlins3

New Orleans Funk vol 3 – The Original Sound of Funk: Two-Way-Pocky-Way, Gumbo Ya Ya and the Mardi Gras Mambo.

Soul Jazz Records has released the third volume in their New Orleans funk series (add to that the excellent collection Saturday Night Fish Fry). The third volume isn’t as strong as the previous ones, but it’s still very very good. You can find a lot of funky beats on it. I love the sounds from “the Big Easy”. The rythms, the groove and the attitude in the music. Lee Dorsey, The Meters, Professor Longhair, Allen Toussaint and Dirty Dozen Brass Band are some of the names on the compilation. Great artists. Larger than life.

I often find seaports interesting and New Orleans is one of my favorite cities. I was there in 1996 (I was 22 years old then) and I’m glad I could experience the city before hurricane Katrina almost destroyed it. I hope I will be able to go back in the near future to experience it again. Especially after I’ve been following the television drama series Treme.

Leave a Reply

